The Russo-Japanese War of 1904-1905

The Russo-Japanese War of 1904-1905

A series of turbulent events of the 20th century began for Russia from a war far in the east. Japan, which unleashed the war, blockaded and besieged Port Arthur, the main base of Russian naval forces in the Pacific. The defense and the subsequent surrender of the fortress became a tragic symbol of the war. Military setbacks, the largest of which were the overland Battle of Mukden and the Tsushima Naval Battle, the name of which became common, were one of the causes of the revolution of 1905-1907 forcing the Russian part to agree to a compromise and sign a peace treaty. The local war turned for Russia into the loss of the entire Navy and the loss of strategic positions in the Far East.

The collection, dedicated to the Russian-Japanese War, includes research works, archival materials, official documents, memoirs, journalistic works, periodicals, albums, postcards, newsreels and other materials (351 units in total).

To develop the collection there were used the materials from the Joint Stock Company "Red Star", Military Training and Research Center of the Navy "Kuznetsov Naval Academy," Military Historical Museum of Artillery, Engineers and Signal Corps of the Ministry of Defense, State Archive of the Russian Federation, State Public Historical Library, Center for Social and Political History of the State Public Historical Library of Russia, Far Eastern State Research Library, Children's Museum of postcards, Don State Public Library, Cultural and Historical Foundation "The Link of Times" (Faberge Museum), Moscow State University, Krupskaya Regional State Scientific Library of Moscow, Russian State Historical Archive, Herzen State Pedagogical University of Russia, Russian State Social University, Russian State Library, Pacific National University, Central Naval Library and private collections.

Share content in social networks:

Русско-японская война 1904-1905 гг.

Русско-японская война 1904-1905 гг.

Череда бурных событий XX века началась для России с войны далеко на востоке страны. Япония, начавшая войну, блокировала и осадила Порт-Артур – главную базу русских военно-морских сил на Тихом океане. Оборона и последующая сдача этой крепости стала трагическим символом войны. Военные неудачи, наиболее крупными из которых были сухопутное Мукденское сражение и ставший нарицательным Цусимский морской бой, стали одной их причин революции 1905-1907 гг. и вынудили российскую сторону пойти на компромисс при подписании мирного договора. Локальная война обернулась для России потерей всего военного флота и утратой стратегических позиций на Дальнем Востоке.

В коллекцию, посвященную русско-японской войне, включены исследования, архивные материалы, официальные документы, мемуары, публицистика, периодические издания, альбомы, открытки, кинохроника и другие материалы (всего 351 единица).

Для подготовки коллекции были использованы материалы из фондов Акционерного общества «Красная звезда», Военного учебно-научного центра ВМФ «Военно-морская академия им. Адмирала Флота Советского Союза Н. Г. Кузнецова», Военно-исторического Музея артиллерии, инженерных войск и войск связи МО РФ, Государственного архива Российской Федерации, Государственной публичной исторической библиотеки, Центра социально-политической истории ГПИБ, Дальневосточной государственной научной библиотеки, Детского музея открытки, Донской государственной публичной библиотеки, Культурно-исторического фонда «Связь времен» (Музей Фаберже), Московского государственного университета, Московской областной государственной научной библиотеки им. Н. К. Крупской, Российского государственного исторического архива, Российского государственного педагогического университета имени А. И. Герцена, Российского государственного социального университета, Российской государственной библиотеки, Тихоокеанского государственного университета, Центральной военно-морской библиотеки и частных собраний.