The Presidential Library: Yesterday, Today, Tomorrow

The Presidential Library: Yesterday, Today, Tomorrow

The Presidential Library, which has a status of the national library of Russia, was opened on May 27, 2009. It is the national electronic repository of digital copies of the most important documents on history, theory and practice of Russian statehood, Russian language, and also the multimedia multifunctional (cultural, educational, research, information and analytical) center. A special collection has been prepared to mark the 10th anniversary of its opening. It is dedicated to the history of the library’s foundation, collection acquisition policy, development of the regional network, scientific and methodological, educational and cultural activities, as well as the cooperation between the Presidential Library and organizations in Russia and abroad. The collection comprehensively presents documents and materials of various types, which spotlight the development of the library from the moment when the decision on its foundation was taken in 2007.

Over the decade the national electronic resource was created from scratch on the basis of well grounded scientific, organizational and technological principles. This was made possible through the cooperation between the Presidential Library and many partners, primarily regional ones. The network of library’s remote electronic reading rooms, regional centers and branches began to develop, thus allowing to create unique digital collections of materials on regional studies.

Moreover, the Presidential Library is developing another network – the network of scientific expert community. The Academic Council has been established at the library. Scientific forums, conferences and roundtable meetings are also regularly held. Collections of materials are published to highlight the results of scientific events. Collections of works of the Presidential Library covering various thematic areas also come out on a regular basis. Being a scientific and methodological center for the development of digital content and cataloging of digital copies of various types of documents, the Presidential Library supports the activities of libraries, archives and museums, publishes translations of international standards and its own scientific and practical guidelines.

Another important direction in the development of the library is scientific and educational work. The combination of innovative information and communication technologies, up-to-date methods of in-person and distance learning and extensive collections on the humanities give an opportunity to hold various contests, olympiads, multimedia lessons, video lectures, traditional and virtual tours in a new format. The formula “unity of traditions and innovations”, which involves application of latest technologies for the presentation of library information resources in a format that is attractive to modern generation, has been successfully implemented.

At the moment, the electronic collection available on the portal includes 344 items and consists of official documents, scientific studies, collections of research works, methodological materials and papers, annual reports, periodicals, informational booklets, documentary films, news, presentation and information videos, photo albums and photo reports, visual materials from the Presidential Library’s collections, as well as documents from the official website of the President of Russia, the Federal Guard Service of the Russian Federation, Agentstvo Inform-Planeta publishing house, private collections and other sources.

The collection will continue to grow as new documents are added.

  • General section

    The general section contains legal documents related to the history of foundation of the Presidential Library, a video of the opening ceremony, annual reports of the Presidential Library published during 2010-2018, thematic issues of Bibliotechnoye Delo journal, information booklets, documentary films and videos about the Presidential Library, and other promotional materials. The section also features links to Presidential Library’s pages on social media websites.

  • Presidential Library’s collections

    The section features documents, which regulate the Presidential Library’s collection acquisition policy, as well as materials about library’s basic and other major thematic electronic collections.

  • Scientific and methodological activities focused on librarianship

    The section contains collections of research works published in “Electronic Library” series, scientific and methodological collections on cataloging and development of electronic collections, translations of international standards, video lectures given by the Presidential Library’s specialists.

  • Scientific activities focused on state and law

    The section contains documents related to the Academic Council of the Presidential Library, collections of research works published in the series "Electronic Legislation", "Digital Archive", "Documents and Materials", “Studia Historico-Juridica” (Historical Jurisprudence) etc., materials of scientific conferences and video reports of the Presidential Library’s specialists.

  • Educational activities

    The section presents materials on various educational projects of the Presidential Library (Knowledge of Russia video lectures, Russia in the Electronic World Olympiad, The Presidential Chronicle and Gosudarika projects, multimedia lessons, educational films etc.).

  • Cultural and educational activities

    The section contains materials, which spotlight cultural and educational projects of the Presidential Library (Foreign View and Our Olympics photo contests, Cinema Club and Poetry Club). A subsection features documentary films prepared by the Presidential Library, including cycles of films about the monuments of Veliky Novgorod and Staraya Ladoga.

  • Exhibition activities

    The section consists of documents, which highlight the exhibitions of the Presidential Library, including video tours, exhibition catalogs, exhibition booklets, electronic exhibitions, as well as virtual tours of the permanent exposition and temporary exhibitions of the Presidential Library and virtual tours around St. Petersburg museums prepared by the Presidential Library’s specialists.

  • International activities

    The section consists of photographs, which spotlight international relations of the Presidential Library.

Share content in social networks:

Президентская библиотека: вчера, сегодня, завтра

Президентская библиотека: вчера, сегодня, завтра

Президентская библиотека, имеющая статус национальной библиотеки России, открыта 27 мая 2009 года и функционирует как общегосударственное электронное хранилище цифровых копий важнейших документов по истории, теории и практике российской государственности, русскому языку, а также как мультимедийный многофункциональный (культурно-просветительский, научно-образовательный и информационно-аналитический) центр. К 10-летию её открытия была подготовлена специальная коллекция, посвящённая истории создания библиотеки, особенностям формирования её фонда, развитию региональной сети, научно-методической, образовательной и культурно-просветительской деятельности, а также сотрудничеству Президентской библиотеки с российскими и зарубежными организациями. В коллекции комплексно представлены документы и материалы различных типов и видов, отражающие развитие библиотеки, начиная с момента принятия в 2007 году решения о её создании.

За десятилетний период на базе обоснованных научно-организационных и технологических принципов с нуля был создан национальный электронный ресурс. Это стало возможным в том числе благодаря привлечению Президентской библиотекой множества партнёров, в первую очередь региональных. Стала развиваться сеть удалённых электронных читальных залов, региональных центров и филиалов библиотеки, что позволило сформировать уникальный цифровой фонд материалов регионоведческого характера.

Кроме того, Президентская библиотека развивает и другую сеть – научного экспертного сообщества. На базе библиотеки создан Учёный совет, регулярно проводятся научные форумы, конференции и круглые столы. По результатам научных мероприятий выходят сборники материалов. На регулярной основе также издаются сборники трудов Президентской библиотеки по различным тематическим направлениям. Являясь научно-методическим центром по формированию цифрового контента и каталогизации цифровых копий различных типов документов, Президентская библиотека осуществляет поддержку деятельности библиотек, архивов и музеев, в том числе издаёт переводы зарубежных стандартов и собственные научно-практические руководства.

Другим важным направлением развития библиотеки стала научно-образовательная деятельность. Соединение инновационных информационно-коммуникационных технологий, новейших методик очного и дистанционного обучения и богатого фонда в области гуманитарного знания позволяет реализовывать в новом формате различные конкурсы, олимпиады, мультимедийные уроки, видеолекции, традиционные и виртуальные экскурсии. Здесь была успешно реализована формула «единство традиций и новаций», при которой новейшие технологии позволяют представить в привлекательном для современного поколения формате библиотечные информационные ресурсы.

На данный момент представленная на портале цифровая коллекция, включающая 344 единиц хранения, объединяет официальные документы, научные исследования, сборники научных трудов и научно-методических материалов, методические пособия, ежегодные отчеты, периодические издания, информационные буклеты, документальные фильмы, новостные, презентационные и информационные видеоролики, альбомы фотографий и фоторепортажи, изобразительные материалы из фонда Президентской библиотеки, а также документы официального сайта Президента России, Федеральной службы охраны Российской Федерации, Российского исторического телеканала, издательства «Агентство Информ-Планета», частных собраний и других источников.

По мере поступления новых документов коллекция будет пополняться.

  • Общий раздел

    Общий раздел включает нормативно-правовые документы, связанные с историей создания Президентской библиотеки, видеозапись церемонии открытия, ежегодные отчеты Президентской библиотеки за 2010–2018 годы, тематические номера журнала «Библиотечное дело», информационные буклеты, документальные фильмы и видеоролики о Президентской библиотеке и другие материалы рекламного характера. Раздел дополняют ссылки на страницы Президентской библиотеки в социальных сетях.

  • Фонд Президентской библиотеки

    В раздел включены нормативные документы, регламентирующие комплектование фонда Президентской библиотеки, а также материалы о базовых и других крупных тематических электронных коллекциях библиотеки.

  • Научно-методическая деятельность в области библиотечного дела

    Раздел содержит сборники научных трудов из серии «Электронная библиотека», научно-методические сборники по каталогизации и формированию цифровых коллекций, переводы международных стандартов, видеолекции специалистов Президентской библиотеки.

  • Научная деятельность в области государства и права

    В раздел включены документы об Учёном совете Президентской библиотеки, сборники научных трудов, изданные в сериях «Электронное законодательство», «Электронный архив», «Документы и материалы», «Историческое правоведение» и др., материалы научных конференций и видеодоклады специалистов Президентской библиотеки.

  • Образовательная деятельность

    Раздел представляет материалы о различных образовательных проектах Президентской библиотеки (видеолекторий «Знание о России», олимпиада «Россия в электронном мире», проекты «Президентская летопись» и «Государика», мультимедийные уроки, учебные фильмы и др.).

  • Культурно-просветительская деятельность

    В разделе собраны материалы о культурно-просветительских проектах Президентской библиотеки (фотоконкурсы «Взгляд иностранца и «Наша Олимпиада», киноклуб и Поэтический клуб). В отдельном подразделе представлены документальные фильмы, подготовленные Президентской библиотекой, в том числе циклы фильмов о памятниках Великого Новгорода и Старой Ладоги.

  • Выставочная деятельность

    В раздел вошли документы о выставках Президентской библиотеки, в том числе видеоэкскурсии, оригинал-макеты изданий каталогов выставок, буклеты по выставкам, электронные выставки, а также виртуальные туры по постоянной экспозиции и временным выставкам Президентской библиотеки и виртуальные туры по музеям Санкт-Петербурга, подготовленные специалистами Президентской библиотеки.

  • Региональная сеть Президентской библиотеки и центры удаленного доступа

    В раздел включены Положение о центрах удалённого доступа к информационным ресурсам Президентской библиотеки, материалы о Тюменском филиале и региональных центрах, информационно-методические вебинары для центров удалённого доступа.

Поделиться материалом в соцсетях: