The Second Crisis of the Provisional Government

The Second Crisis of the Provisional Government

The second crisis of the Provisional Government fell on the period of the July disturbances (also known as the July Days) following the ill-fated military offensive. On July 2 (15), 1917, members of the Constitutional Democratic Party (Cadets) opposed the adoption of the II Universal of the Central Council of Ukraine and the recognition of the autonomy of Ukraine (the final decision on its form was postponed until the Russian Constituent Assembly) and withdrew from the government.

On July 7 (20), the Minister of Justice P. N. Pereverzev, who, without agreement with representatives of the Socialist parties of the Provisional Government, released some compromising evidences of the Bolsheviks’ connections with Germany, resigned office. On the same day, the Chairman of the Council of Ministers and Minister of Internal Affairs G. E. Lvov vacated office as well. A. F. Kerensky took over as head of the government. On July 24 (August 6) the second coalition cabinet of the Provisional Government, composed mostly of socialists, was formed with Kerensky at its head. The Petrograd Soviet of Workers 'and Soldiers' Deputies declared after that an unconditional support of the Provisional Government. L. G. Kornilov was appointed Supreme Commander-in-Chief instead of A. A. Brusilov.

In attempt to consolidate various social and political forces the Provisional Government convened the State Conference in Moscow, bringing together about 2500 people. A. F. Kerensky was its chairman. However, during the meeting, the Provisional Government was harshly criticized, and the statements of both liberals and military-grades were of a radical nature: they proposed a liquidation of the Soviets, a prohibition of freedom of assembly, the restoration of the death penalty, etc. Such the ideas paved the way for the establishment of a military dictatorship.

Outlawed after the suppression of the July uprising Bolsheviks were the only who have not attended the meeting. They were partly under arrest, some of them — in exile. However, they managed to hold the VI Party Congress from July 26 (August 8) to August 3 (16), on the basis of which a course toward an armed uprising was generally taken. In addition, following the results of the Congress, L. D. Trotsky was admitted into the party and was elected to the Central Committee (in his absence, since he was in custody at that time).

Another important issue of the summer of 1917 was the separatist movements of the ethnic borderlands, which intensified following the crisis situation in the Center.

The section contains the timelines, research works, memoirs, archival documents, and visual materials, thematically organized and familiarizing with the numerous contradictory tendencies of mid July — mid August 1917.

Share content in social networks:

Второй кризис Временного правительства

Второй кризис Временного правительства

Второй кризис Временного правительства пришелся на период июльского восстания и неудач на фронте. 2 (15) июля 1917 г. члены Конституционно-демократической партии (кадеты) выступили против принятия Второго Универсала и признания права Украины на автономию (окончательное решение вопроса о ее форме откладывалось до Учредительного собрания) и вышли из состава правительства.

7 (20) июля ушел в отставку министр юстиции П.Н. Переверзев, который опубликовал без согласования с представителями социалистических партий Временного правительства компрометирующие большевиков материалы об их связях с Германией. В этот же день покинул свой пост председатель Совета министров и министр внутренних дел Г.Е. Львов. Главой правительства стал А.Ф. Керенский. 24 июля (6 августа) было сформировано второе коалиционное Временное правительство, в котором большинство должностей заняли представители социалистических партий. Петроградский совет рабочих и солдатских депутатов объявил после этого о безоговорочной поддержке Временного правительства. Верховным главнокомандующим вместо А.А. Брусилова был назначен Л.Г. Корнилов.

Временное правительство попыталось консолидировать различные общественно-политические силы и созвало в Москве Государственное совещание, в котором участвовало около 2500 человек. Его председателем был А.Ф. Керенский. Однако во время совещания Временное правительство было подвергнуто острой критике, а высказывания как либералов, так и военных носили радикальный характер – они предлагали ликвидировать Советы, запретить митинги и собрания, восстановить смертную казнь и т.д. Подобные идеи создавали почву для установления военной диктатуры.

В совещании не принимали участие только большевики, которые после подавления июльского восстания находились вне закона. Частично они находились под арестом, частично – в эмиграции. Однако они успели провести VI съезд партии с 26 июля (8 августа) по 3 (16) августа, по итогам которого был в целом взят курс на вооруженное восстание. Также по итогам съезда Л.Д. Троцкий был включен в число членов партии и избран в ЦК (заочно, сам находился в это время в заключении).

Другой важный вопрос лета 1917 г. – сепаратистские движения национальных окраин, которые активизировались в связи с кризисной ситуаций Центра.

В разделе представлены хроники событий, исследования, воспоминания, архивные документы, изобразительные материалы, которые разбиты тематически и позволяют познакомиться с многочисленными противоречивыми тенденциями середины июля – первой половины августа 1917 г.

Поделиться материалом в соцсетях: